Already participating in RCCO? Get resources here.

What is an ACO?

Accountable Care Organizations (ACOs) are groups of doctors, hospitals, and other health care providers who come together voluntarily to give coordinated high quality care to their Medicare patients. The goal of coordinated care is to ensure that patients, especially the chronically ill, get the right care at the right time, while avoiding unnecessary duplication of services and preventing medical errors.

The Medicare Shared Savings Program rewards ACOs that voluntarily agree to lower their growth in health care costs while meeting performance standards on quality of care and putting patients first.

Read more about the Medicare Shared Savings Program.

How do I know if I’m listed as a participating provider in RCCO?

Participating in an ACO is voluntary for providers. If you’re not sure whether you’re listed as an official participant in RCCO, check with your Chief Medical Officer.

Find data and resources for RCCO participants here.

RCCO was formed in 2012, and accepted into the Medicare Shared Savings Program in January 2014.

To be accepted, ACOs must meet all eligibility and program requirements, must serve at least 5,000 Medicare Fee-For-Service patients and agree to participate in the program for at least 3 years. Medicare providers who participate in an ACO in the Shared Savings Program will continue to receive payment under Medicare Fee-For-Service rules.

How do shared savings work?

CMS develops a benchmark for each ACO to assess whether it qualifies to receive shared savings. The benchmark is an estimate of what the total Medicare Fee-For-Service Parts A and B expenditures for ACO beneficiaries would have been in the absence of the ACO, even if all services weren’t provided by providers in the ACO. CMS also establishes a Minimum Savings Rate (MSR) and a Minimum Loss Rate (MLR) to account for normal variations in health care spending.

If an ACO meets quality standards and achieves savings and also meets or exceeds the MSR, the ACO will share in savings, based on the quality score of the ACO. ACOs will share in all savings, not just the amount of savings that exceeds the MSR, up to a performance payment limit.

Read more about the Medicare Shared Savings Program.